• Home
  • News
  • Robert G. Dwyer Receives Chancellor of the Bar Award

Robert G. Dwyer Receives Chancellor of the Bar Award

Posted on May 10, 2022

Robert (Bob) Dwyer

Robert G. Dwyer received the 2022 Chancellor of the Bar Award from the Erie County Bar Association (ECBA) at its annual Law Day celebration on Tuesday, May 10, 2022. This lifetime achievement award "recognizes an ECBA member who was nominated by his/her peers for significant contributions with respect to their practice, attitude toward the Court and fellow lawyers, and participation in civic affairs and community life."

Law Day 2022 10

Bob's practice is concentrated on transactions involving acquisitions, dispositions, and mergers of business entities, closely-held organizations involved in successorship planning, and the tax analysis of the consequences of these matters; and the implementation of sophisticated estate and trust planning and the administration of complex estates and trusts. He was licensed as a Certified Public Accountant in Virginia and Pennsylvania, and graduated from both Georgetown University and Georgetown University Law Center.

Bob has served on numerous nonprofit organizations as a board member and/or board chair, including The Erie County Community Foundation, United Way of Erie County, Hamot Health Foundation and more.

We congratulate Bob and are proud to call him a colleague.

Law Day was first observed under President Dwight Eisenhower in 1958 and was established to remember and reflect on our rights and responsibilities as citizens. The ECBA's celebration of Law Day is designed to celebrate our Constitution and our country's legal heritage.

Past recipients of the Chancellor of the Bar Award from Knox Law include Jackson D. Magenau (1968), M. Fletcher Gornall (1988), John M. McLaughlin (1993), Harvey D. McClure (2001), Wallace J. Knox, II (2003), William C. Sennett (2007), Harry K. Thomas (posthumously, 2012), Michael A. Fetzner (2015), and Christine H. McClure (2017).

For more information, please contact Sarah Holland.